The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

Feel free to read my review of The 5th Wave here. Click here to view on Goodreads and click here to view on Amazon.

I was marginally more impressed with this book than I was with the last book. It’s not even that this book is better. Less happens in this one, so I could take the time to enjoy the writing style. Which is beautiful by the way. W2G, Yancey.

This installment focused a lot more on Ringer than it did on Cassie, which is fine. Don’t get me wrong, I like Cassie a lot (and we still get some Cassie POV), but I think her story was sufficiently explored in the last one. What’s left for her in this book, except to reunite with Evan (gag) and live happily ever after? There was a lot more to learn about Ringer, her past, and how she came to be the person she is. I also think she’s right to question why the Others (who are supposedly

There js next to no action in this book, but there was a lot of exposition and symbolism. I’m not sure why the excessive symbolism? I get it. The humans are the rats now. The Others are the humans. We’re an annoyance. Also, please stop repeating the phrase “infinite sea.” I get it. It’s the title. It’s symbolic. Fine. Can we stop now?

Risk was also really important to Ringer? She loved to point out how the risk to the Others didn’t make sense. If they’re just intelligences on the mothership, not bodies, why do they need Earth? Why bother with the risk? Why are they doing this in waves to try and preserve a planet they don’t need? Same, Ringer.

The ending to this book is a lot less lazy than in the first book: there is a resolution, we know where everyone is headed, and we know the status of all of our characters. One thing I don’t know is how long Yancey wants me to think Parrish can live with that damned infected bullet wound.

If you really want to, you can purchase this novel at literally any bookstore that sells new books.

Look for my review of the last installment in this series, The Last Star, sometime in June!

TL;DR

  • 3/5 stars
  • Cassie is still fab
  • Ringer is pretty rad, too.
  • Rick, stop trying to make symbolism fetch happen! It’s not going to happen
  • W2G for learning how to end a novel properly
Leave a Reply

